Game review: Shadow of the Colossus

Platform: Sony Playstation 2

colossus.jpg

Rating star4.gif

Synopsis
You are a young warrior named Wander and you must slay very irritable creatures many, many, many times your size in order to resurrect Mono, your love. It turns out that you were appropriately named because you must travel great distances, across fields, deserts and forests, through mountains and caves, even swimming lakes, to find the colossi you are to slay. And you have exactly one horse, one sword and one bow (with arrows). Oh, and did I mention how big the colossi are? See the dude in the picture – you could stand on his eyebrows and he would hardly notice.

Gameplay
Yes, I know, this game is from 2005. Ancient. Almost Space Invaders old. But video games are not really my thing – except for Guitar Hero – so I play very few of them very rarely. But I absolutely love this game.

Shadow of the Colossus had me the very first time I stood in the shadow of one of these monsters. I actually felt shocked, saying “oh my effing god” out loud. It seemed almost comical that my tiny little avatar is supposed to fight them, never mind kill them. But with enough perseverance and skill – and tips found online – it can most definitely be done. I’m about 4 hours in and have brought 9 of these mothers down and I’m not a gamer, so there is hope for you, tiny dancer.

The beauty of this game is its simplicity. There are no villages to explore, no other characters to talk to. There’s no treasure to find or hidden passages. And if you take a wrong step off that cliff, your done. Or, if you just want to sit under the shade of that tree, go ahead and eat up the electricity, cause nothing’s going to happen. You have one goal – find the colossus’ weakness and begin the long battle of smiting it.

It’s these battles, however, where Shadow of the Colossus isn’t quite 5 out of 5. They can be exhilarating and a bit of a mind game trying to find and exploit the colossus’ weakness, but they can also be formulaic and a bit tedious when you realize the key is to do the same set of actions – like shoot an arrow into it’s eye, climb on it’s back, stabby stabby, fall off – over and over until it’s dead.

But that is really a small criticism in the face of this game’s massive, massive playability and fun. Though a tiny gamer I may be, I will eventually climb on it’s huge, hairy back and… you get the idea.

1 comment so far

  1. Lippo on

    I was waiting for this review.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

