Miniature Japanese Food!

Last week in Vancouver, I visited – as I always do when I go out west – Aberdeen Centre, a huge and quite lovely Asian mall. I was casually strolling along with a friend when we spotted something remarkable: an ENTIRE STORE devoted to miniature Japanese food.

I already had a tiny collection – no pun intended – but this place had me salivating for more – again, no pun intended. Every conceivable meal you could ever eat in Japan was replicated in 1/6 scale, including Western food – one of my blind assortment packs revealed spaghetti and meatballs. There were also shelves and shelves of appliances so I picked up a blender and lovely toaster set. But better yet, the store was filled with huge dioramas under glass of incredibly detailed restaurant and kitchen scenes. Very inspiring.

Soon, my robots shall dine…

5 comments so far

  1. Yasuyuki Maeda on

    Hello nice to meet you.
    KO-N-NI-CHI-WA (^_^)v
    I am Japanese.
    I saw your wonderful site.
    Please link to this site !
    【Website】http://food-of-japan.blogspot.com/

  2. sisters oregon on

    I am guessing this is in BC right not Vancouver, Washington

  3. viana on

    i wanna go there

  4. Xiu Ying on

    Hi I am from Singapore the place you are mentioning is in japan?

    • Pedro the Otaku on

      Nope, it’s in Vancouver – but there are LOTS of places like that in Japan 🙂


Leave a Reply

