Anime North 2008!

Con Report
I don’t know if Anime North just keeps getting better or if I’m just learning how to really enjoy it.

This year, I rented a car and only went with other anime fans – not friends I’m trying to convert and therefore feel responsible for. We took our time, drank lots of water and kept ourselves fed. We watched people dancing, took lots of pictures, moved very slowly through the dealer’s room, watched some anime – turns out Flag is quite awesome – and even did our own cosplay photo shoot.

I came away from the event loving the anime community more than ever. There is an amazing sense of joy and celebration at Anime North. Random dance parties break out, spectacular costumes are everywhere and I did not see one moment of tension or conflict.

In fact, one of my friends in tow pointed out that for an event attended and run mostly by teenagers and early 20-somethings, there was no fighting or bullying or stupidity of any kind. It feels as if, because we are all there for the same reason – our love of this outsider genre – we’re all on the same team.

And kudos to the Anime North staff who made the event easy to navigate, safe and organized. Only two beefs: I pre-registered and paid two months in advance and yet I had to stand in line for almost an hour for my ticket. Why not just print out the pass online and make pre-registration more useful than just saving a few dollars?

Oh, and the wrestling. Serious, that has got to go.

Anyway, did you attend Anime North? What did you think?

1 comment so far

  1. Jenny on

    Hi I was there ^^
    Your blog is a nice recap. I also feel it gets better every year!

    I never go to the wrestling.. so no comment (haha)
    But I really hope they expand screening some older stuffs — cause I like the old-school

    btw I loved those Rayearth girl you have a picture of above..
    Next year I am definitely being a Hikaru!! 😄


Leave a Reply

