Shinichiro Watanabe interview

A few years ago, while working on a story for CBC Radio, I had the great honour of interviewing Shinichiro Watanabe about his hip hop-anime Samurai Champloo. Until recently, this interview was archived elsewhere, but it disappeared, so I’ve uploaded it myself.

Keep in mind that the interview may sound a bit odd: I had not intended to use my own voice on the air, so I’m asking the questions to the translator who then answers them in first person.

Still, you’ll get some great insights into Champloo.

3 comments so far

  1. pakudc on

    This is awesome. Thank’s a lot.

  2. Alejandro Aguilar on

    I just got done watching this anime. It was my second time watching an anime directed by Watanabe, the first being Cowboy Bebop. It didn’t disappoint. This man does great work. Interesting interview. Part of his greatness is how he conceptualizes his stories. Putting unlikely genres and subjects together and relating them in a way that’s smart, deep, and entertaining. Thanks for putting this up.

  3. Kat on

    Awesome interview and great questions! I also wished there were more Samurai Champloo episodes/movie/anything!


Leave a Reply

